Canoe Marathon racing is not an Olympic sport. The main events are the annual World Championships.

Marathons are long distance races on rivers, lakes, estuaria or open sea. The course may include obstacles such as shallows, rocks and portages. Under ICF rules, the minimum distances for international races are 20 kilometres (12 mi) for men, and 15 kilometres (9.3 mi) for women. The races may be divided in several parts and/or several days. World Cup and World Championship races normally are about 35 to 40 kilometres (22 to 25 mi) long.

As there are no maximum distances, marathon racing has its extremes, such as Dipole Challenge 170 kilometres (110 mi) non-stop down the Neris River through the night in November, Lithuania: Dipolio iššūkis. the Classique international de canots in Quebec Canada, (120 mile, 3 day, three stage event) Hawkesbury Canoe Classic in New South WalesAustraliaDevizes to Westminster Marathon in England 125 miles (201 km), the Tour de Gudenå in Denmark 120 kilometres (75 mi), the Texas Water Safari 262 miles (422 km), the Missouri River 340[2] (nonstop 340 miles (550 km)), the Au Sable River Canoe Marathon (nonstop 120 miles (190 km)), the Berg River Canoe Marathon (248 kilometres (154 mi)), Fish River Canoe Marathon (81 kilometres (50 mi)),Dusi Canoe Marathon (125 kilometres (78 mi)), Vaal River Marathon, in South Africa, the YMCA (formerly Red Cross) Murray Marathon, 404 kilometres (251 mi) down the Murray River in Australia, the Yukon River Quest (715 kilometres (444 mi)) from Whitehorse to Dawson on the Yukon River, and the longest canoe and kayak race, the Yukon 1000 (1,000 miles (1,600 km)) on the Yukon River from Whitehorse to the last road access point on the river in Alaska. A documentary was made about the race. Many of these races have been formed into the Canoe Marathon [World Classics World Classics Series] by the ICF.

Some famous kayak marathon racers are Ivan Lawler, a seven-time world champion, and Anna Hemmings, a three-time world champion.

Canoe Marathon


Canoe Marathon News





Please note that the date quoted in the 2013-6 Newsletter was incorrect.


The date for the Crestuma Marathon in Portugal is 29 June 2014.


The Marathon Committee have also been notified of and approved a change to the date of the Liffey Descent.  The clash with the World Marathon Championships has now been removed and the Liffey will take place on 4th October 2014


See revised Classic Series 2014 Details Summary in scroll Bar.




The February 2014 CAM Newsletter is published including the following news:

  • World Cup 2014

  • European Championships 2014

  • World Championships/Pan American Championships 2014

For Newletter

For World Cup Bulletin

For European Champs Bulletin

For World Champs Bulletin






The Adige marathon, the last race of the ICF Classic Series Canoe Marathon, was completed today Sunday, October 20. The tenth edition of one of the most famous river marathons in the world witnessed more than 400 competitors racing from  Borghetto di Avio (Trento, ITALY), to the finish line in  Pescantina (Verona).


 Tomas SLOVAK of Czech Republic, who won the ninth race of the Series in Cesky Krumlov last weekend was the winner again this week and moved up to 2nd place in the ICF Classic Series. Ist place in the series remained with Tomas JEZEC  of Czech Republic from results earlier in the ten race series.  3rd place in the series was taken by Jan LAENEN of  Belgium from his best 3 results  of the 5 series events he  complete in.


 The Woman's race  in series had already been won by Pia RUHM from Germany the winner of the Gudena and with her points from other  events could not be caught in the battle for the women's title.  Sabine Eichenberger, after her gold medal of Cesky Krumlov won the Adige and secured 2nd place in the ICF Classic Series with Manuela STOEBERL  of Germany finishing 2ndin the Adige moving up to 3rd place in the series.


 Antonin HALES from the Czec Republic was 2nd C1 in the Adige but this was enough to secure the overall Classic Series win.  Tomislav  LEPAN of the Croatian team won the Adige and finished in 2nd place in the ICF Classic Series with Martin NOVAK of Czec Republic finishing 3rd in the Adige and the Classic Series.




© 2018 by ACC. 

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page